How to use Sailserver privacy settings
In your account settings there is a privacy section that is used to control how you share data from your Sailserver. By default all your data is private, and can not be viewed by anyone.
Sailserver is private by default
No information about you or your boat is shared outside of the app, unless you give us permission to do so. However we do make the name of your boat, and your username visible in the “Search” function, so other Sailserver users can find you.
Sailserver is not only a tracking device for your boat, but it also has a social element. It should be easy for the Sailserver users to use the features in the app, so that “Friend requests” works without any user interaction.
When you have accepted all the family and friends that you want to give access to follow you, you can hide your username and boat name in the search function, without any impact on the friends you have accepted.
The first section handles what data is visible to other users that have a Sailserver account, when they use the “search” function in the Sailserver app.
Hide boat in search
The name of your boat is visible so that other users can find it and send a friend request. If you do not wish for other users to be able to search for your boat, you must check the box “Hide boat in search”.
Hide user name in search
The username you used to sign up with, is also visible as default. The username can also be used in search to send friend requests. If you do not wish other users to be able to use your username in search, you must check the box “Hide username in search”
Show boat on map in search
When users search for your name or your boat, the location of the boat can be shown on the map. If there are boats with the same name, the location can be a useful way to find the correct one to follow. By default this setting is off, to have the location of your boat shown on the map, you must check the box “Show boat on map in search”
Friends and Links
This section handles what is visible to the friends you have accepted, and what is visible to people that have a shared link to your boat.
Hide tracks for friends
When you accept a Sailserver user as a friend, he will be able to see all the tracks that have been recorded by your Sailserver. If you do not wish for your friends to see your tracks, but only the last track on the Dashboard, you must check “Hide tracks for friends''
Hide comments of tracks to friends
The friends you have accepted, can also see the comments you have added to your tracks, if you do not want your friends to see those comments you can check the “Hide comments of tracks to friends”
Links works the same way as friends
In the Privacy section at the bottom, you can create a link to your Sailserver profile. This link gives the same access as if you have added a Sailserver user as a friend. The difference here is that those that have the link, do not need a Sailserver account to follow your boat.
This link is not recommended to share on the public Internet, eg. on a blog site, or in a public Facebook post, unless you want everyone to be able you follow your tracks. We have made an effort to exclude these links from the search results, but the search engines like Google, Bing and others, are not required to adhere to this block, so we can not guarantee that these links will be excluded.
This section handles what is visible to those that have a Sailserver account, but is not added as a friend.
Other users may follow your boat
If you do not want to accept a lot of friend requests, you can check this option to allow everyone with a Sailserver account to follow your tracks.
>Hide tracks for other users
You can limit how much other users can see, if you only want them to see your current position and the current data from your last track and not all your tracks, you can check the “Hide tracks for other users”.
Hide comments of tracks for other users
If you make lots of comets to your tracks, and do not want to share those with others, you can check the “Hide comments of tracks for other users”. If the “Hide tracks for other users” is not checked, other users will be able to see your tracks, but not your comments.
Public (Visitors that are not logged in)
This section handles what is visible to anyone and everyone on the Internet. As per default this is off, and no information about you, your boat or its positions will be displayed anywhere.
Show position and boat name public
By public we mean “what can be displayed” on the Sailserver homepage, and on the sailserver.com subpages. Allowing public view, will show information about you and your boat to anyone visiting sailserver.com
Hide tracks for public
You can hide your tracks for the public visitor on sailserver.com by checking “Hide tracks for public”. This will still show the position of your boat and other dashboard information to anyone that visits sailserver.com.
Hide comments of tracks for public
You can allow the public to see your tracks, but still hide the comments you have made. If you want the public to see the tracks, but not your comments, check the “Hide comments of tracks for public”.